Select Page

How To Set Up Your Own CPTSD Treatment Plans and How to Enhance the Treatment

presented by Suzy Matthijssen, PhD

Oct 31; Nov 7; Nov 14; Nov 28  2022 – Oct 31: 19.30 CET / 02:30pm EDT / 11.30am PDT; Nov 7 ; Nov 14 ; Nov 28: 19.30 CET / 01:30pm EST / 10.30am PST*

* Adjustments due to daylight saving

20 credits: EMDRIA, Psychologists, LCSW, LMFT, LMHC, LPC and other NBCC approved masters level clinicians

LIMITED SPACE AVAILABLE

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER

Purpose of the course: Treating patients with (C)PTSD symptoms is sometimes quite difficult. Often there are so many traumatic events that one does not know where to start. Also, ongoing weekly issues often distract attention from underlying issues. The road to recovery and well-being seems long for many patients, especially when only one session per week can be offered. Not only patients, but also therapists are looking for ways to intensify and improve their treatment. Scientific research indicates that intensifying treatment results in less dropout of therapy and faster relief of symptoms. To do this, however, involves establishing a good treatment plan and knowing how to deal with dissociation, avoidance, self-harm and suicidality in drawing up the plan. It is also important to have a good understanding of what exactly the therapist is treating. A clear goal, using the right diagnostic tools, intensification of treatment and a well-defined plan governed by clear case conceptualization will guide more effective and efficient treatment from beginning to completion. 

Course design: The course involves 12 hours during which participants watch recorded didactic teaching lectures followed by 8 hours of online live teaching and practicums, for a total of 20 teaching hours. In addition, there is between 10-15 hours expected for reading course literature. The course design has been chosen so participants complete much of the work at their preferred times and view course material as much as they’d like. Each class receives exactly the same teaching material in online lessons. The 8 hours of practicums are divided into four 2-hours meetings. The 2-hour practicums are determined for optimal participant focus and engagement. Each practicum covers 1 topic and practice includes role plays (see explanation of the specific lesson days). The online lessons and classroom components are given in English, but most documents are provided to the participants in English and Dutch and Dutch participants practice with each other in the various break-out groups in role plays.

General learning objectives
Participants will be able to:

  1. Design their own intensive trauma treatment program.
  2. Provide (intensive) effective trauma treatment online.
  3. Draw up a treatment plan for treating (C)PTSD.
  4. Describe methods to make optimal selections of reprocessing targets.
  5. Integrate current triggers and avoidance behavior into the treatment.
  6. Select appropriate diagnostic tools to use and how and when to use them to measure symptoms.
  7. Describe methods to improve client treatment outcomes.
  8. Describe various effective treatment components (EMDR/IE).
  9. Describe important complimentary treatment components to enhance outcomes (physical exercise / psychoeducation).

DISCOUNT: If you register for this training via EMDR Advanced Training and Distance Learning, LLC you will receive a DISCOUNT OF $300. Just use the code EMDRATDL upon purchase (by October 21) and you will obtain the discount directly. Go to: Courses | ETT Institute (ett-institute.com) to register so your spot is reserved.

Accreditation: The course is approved for 20 EMDRIA credits, 20 NBCC credits for master’s level clinicians, and 8 APA credits. If you want to obtain EMDRIA and professional CE’s you can obtain this for an additional $30.

Once the course is finished, you will be sent a link to pay and obtain these credits.

Trainer: Suzy Matthijssen, PhD, is a clinical psychologist-psychotherapist, senior researcher, CBT and EMDR supervisor, psychotraumatherapist NtVP, NRGD registered pro justice reporter and a lecturer at university and post-doctorate psychology specialization programs. The focus of the research she conducts is on the optimization of trauma treatments. She is the director of the Altrecht Academic Anxiety Centre where she is also head of an intensive trauma treatment program and she is expert leader on PTSD. She is connected to Utrecht University. She is involved in research on the enhancement of trauma therapy, intensive trauma treatments and working mechanisms of trauma therapy. She is the vice president of the Dutch EMDR association, is in the scientific committee of EMDR Europe and is the co-chair of the Council of Scholars; the Future of EMDR project and she is the director of the Enhancing Trauma Treatment Institute.

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER

Click here for other EMDR Advanced Training and Distance Learning Programs